Another View

wrongway

Hello my name is Brian Fontaine.  My wife writes the blog, The Lighter Side of Autism.  I’d like to take a moment to say thank you to all of her readers who share in the humor of our daily lives.  I’d like to say a special thank you to those of you who have been with her from the beginning.  Perhaps some of you remember her very first post where she proudly displayed her new pink computer.  You will be happy to know the pink computer is still running strong and to date she has published over 50 articles.  That said, Anne asked me if I would share with you a story that occurred this week with our son Tristan.   So today I become the first ever guest writer for, The Lighter Side.

The other day I received a phone call just as I was getting in the car to take Tristan to school.  An old friend of mine wanted to ask me some technical questions about computers.  We talked for a while about old times, and then got to the topic of computers.

I drove toward town just like always but instead of turning to take Tristan to school, I absent mindedly turned to go to Church, where I work.  I drove on for about ten minutes happily answering my friend’s questions.  Meanwhile, Tristan sat completely silent in the back seat.  You see, my son Tristan, is nonverbal.  He doesn’t talk.

I wonder if he noticed we were going the wrong way.  I wonder if he wondered where we were going.  Perhaps he was thinking, “Hey Dad, ummm… we are going the wrong way.”  Of course he didn’t say anything.

When I finally remembered I had a passenger in the car who was not going to work with me I quickly turned around and headed back toward town.  I still managed to get Tristan to school on time, but I was a little late for work.

I often wonder what Tristan is thinking but cannot communicate to us.  I wonder what he would have said on the ride to school that day, had he been able to speak.  I wonder how many funny stories he would tell us about life from his perspective.

Another healthy dose of laughter from our home!

2 thoughts on “Another View

Leave a Reply

