No More Ponytail

Tristan has never liked it when I wear my hair in a ponytail. I do not know why. He clearly communicates that he doesn’t like it, by taking my hair out of a pony tail holder. After so many times of this reaction being repeated, I finally gave up wearing my hair in a ponytail.

Image result for ponytail free images

 

 

 

This behavior was not something I had ever shared with caregivers or teachers.

One day our respite provider was in our home taking care of Tristan. I was also at home working on tasks around the house. When I was in the kitchen, I witnessed a clash of wills. Tristan communicated to our friend that she needed her ponytail removed. He kept trying to take it out of her hair! She responded by saying, “No.” After several failed attempts to get her hair down, he switched strategies.

Tristan grabbed a pair of scissors out of his activity box a few steps away from us. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw something about to happen. Tristan aimed the scissors close to her ponytail! He sneaked up behind the chair she was sitting in. He was about to cut her hair. Our respite provider asked, “What are you doing?”
I gasped, “No you may not cut off her ponytail!”
We quickly pulled the scissors out of his hands.
She declared, “I am leaving my hair up.”

That was a close call. I can’t believe he almost succeeded. Now I realized maybe I should share this behavior with future caregivers!

Enjoy another healthy dose of laughter from our home!

Leave a Reply

